Skip to content

Mary?

October 15, 2006



Mount Calvary Cemetery

Heath, Ohio

As I was driving through this cemetery, I saw this and hit the brakes. I just froze. I must have stayed there, unmoving for 5 minutes or so before I got myself out of the car to shoot it. There was just something … wrong, and immediately arresting about it. I shoot a lot of cemeteries and don’t often run into things that unnerve me, but this did.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. greg permalink
    October 16, 2006 10:40 pm

    It really is unnerving…I’m not sure if it’s the head that seems to be half-missing, or the fact that it’s hard to tell if she’s looking toward you or away. Very nice, and very creepy.

  2. Jovi permalink
    October 17, 2006 12:47 am

    It’s eerie. The fact that the sun is setting adds to the picture. I love it. I imagine that it’s creepier at night when you’d just catch a glimpse of it as you passed by.

  3. Dane permalink
    October 17, 2006 6:23 am

    Thank you both for commenting! The head is half gone — I’ve another picture of it from the side here.

    I hadn’t had an experience like that in a long time.

  4. Joey Harrison permalink
    November 3, 2006 4:33 pm

    Boy, you arrived at the perfect time of day for that shot.

Leave a Reply

