Skip to content

Happy Memorial Day

May 28, 2007

Enjoy your cookouts!

Brother Jack McDuff – Hot Barbecue

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Walt permalink
    May 28, 2007 9:18 pm

    We were just talking about what to have for dinner. Now I know what I want. Those deviled eggs and that cake. What is that cake, besides decedent and delicious, that is?

    I love when you post food pictures.

  2. Dane permalink
    May 28, 2007 9:31 pm

    I love that you love the food pictures!

    It’s just a plain ol’ chocolate cake (I cheated and used a mix … oh, the burning shame) with buttercream frosting (also cheating; storebought) with a chocolate truffle candy bar chopped and sprinkled over.

  3. Walt permalink
    May 29, 2007 11:36 pm

    I don’t care that the cake mix was store bought. All I know is that it was baked with love. And it’s chocolate. And has candy on top. I love the way it’s cut, too.

    What’s the red stuff in the tupperware container?

    I’m totally going to cheat tomorrow and eat cake… and lots of it… at work.

  4. Dane permalink
    May 30, 2007 12:04 am

    It *was* baked with love – for me! 🙂 The way it’s cut, well, you see, I can NEVER NEVER muster the patience to let the cake cool completely before frosting it. I always end up frosting it while it’s still warm, and this time it cracked down the middle. I had no real choice but to cut it like that.

    And then I figured, hell, I’m the only one eating it. I think we all know that given the “no diet on weekends” rule, I’m going to eat a piece that big anyway.

  5. Dane permalink
    May 30, 2007 12:05 am

    Oh, and the red stuff is tomatoes.

  6. Walt permalink
    May 31, 2007 12:48 am

    I tend to frost the cakes I bake too soon, too. I like the way it’s cut, though. It really does, from the picture, look intentional. And still so delicious.

    I’ll shut up about food now.

Leave a Reply

