Skip to content

Happy First Blog Birthday

June 19, 2007

(No, I didn’t make this one.)

Frank Sinatra – It Was a Very Good Year

Frank Sinatra – The Best Is Yet To Come

Good Lord, I’ve actually kept with this a year now.

If you had ever told me that for a year and a half, I’d be posting 1-3 pictures a day to my Flickr account, and one photo and mp3 a day (mucking about with YouSendIt every day) for a year here, let alone concurrently, I would never have believed you.

Who knew I had the stick-to-it-iveness necessary? Not I.

Just for kicks, here are the top ten most downloaded songs since I’ve been keeping track (November).
10)The Crew Cuts – Sh-Boom at 9 downloads
9)Helen Reddy – I Am Woman at 9 downloads
8 )Don Ho – Tiny Bubbles at 11 downloads
7)The Ventures – Hawaii Five-O at 12 downloads
6)Gary Numan – Cars at 13 downloads
5)Tom Waits – The Piano Has Been Drinking (Not Me) at 13 downloads
4)Frankie Smith – Double Dutch Bus at 15 downloads
3)The Servant – Cells (Lunged Instrumental Mix) at 18 downloads
2)Boomtown Rats – I Don’t Like Mondays at 19 downloads
1)Suzanne Vega – Tom’s Diner at 27 downloads

Which tells me something; my readers are as weird as I am.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. greg permalink
    June 20, 2007 5:40 am

    Happy Blogiversary, Dane! Sticking with anything for a year in internet time is like a silver anniversary in normal time. And since a few of those downloads are mine, I’ll take that “weird” remark as a compliment.

    Here’s to another 365 days ahead!

  2. Dane permalink
    June 20, 2007 2:54 pm

    Thank you, Greg!

    And the weird remark was full of affection. 🙂

  3. angie permalink
    June 21, 2007 7:34 pm

    i missed your anniversary… sorry, toots! congrats on a year’s worth of photo and musical excellence! way to stay at it.

    i’m sure the cupcake didn’t last long 🙂

  4. Walt permalink
    June 24, 2007 1:25 am

    Happy belated anniversary, sweets!

    I’m really surprised that “Double Dutch Bus” ranked so high on the downloads. I’m sort of freaked by that *and* have the video playing through my head at the same time.

  5. Dane permalink
    July 2, 2007 1:35 am

    Thanks, Angie. No, the cupcake didn’t last long; I gave it to my dog! 🙂

    Waltie, I’m more surprised by Tiny Bubbles and Tom’s Diner doing as well as they did.

  6. Todd Franklin permalink
    July 3, 2007 9:48 pm

    Happy belated blog birthday! Always enjoy your posts!

  7. Dane permalink
    July 3, 2007 10:07 pm

    Thanks, Todd!

Leave a Reply

