Skip to content

Carl Brown Foodliner

April 5, 2008

Mt. Vernon neighborhood of Columbus, Ohio

1962: Gene Pitney – The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Karswell permalink
    April 5, 2008 2:36 pm

    Not sure we had Foodliners here in St Louis but the lettering on the sign looks familiar to me, maybe I saw them somewhere else. Interesting that you snapped the photo from the back of the store.

  2. Anne permalink
    April 5, 2008 10:20 pm

    I love your photography. I saw an abandoned truck stop off of rt. 70 (I think it was out past Zanesville) and thought of you because I knew you could do something amazing with it.

  3. Dane permalink
    April 6, 2008 1:03 am

    Karswell – For a while in the ’60s and ’70s, many store had that sort of sign – the letters in that typestyle and in individual blocks. In fact, I have two more similar ones on my hard drive that I haven’t posted yet!

    Anne – Thank you for such a huge compliment! I can’t tell you how that makes my day! Also, I think I might know which truck stop you mean; one of my Flickr contacts shot one here – is this it? If so, thanks for reminding me. I need to get out there!

  4. Dane permalink
    April 6, 2008 2:57 pm

    Karswell – scratch that, I am an idiot. I forgot which Foodliner photo I posted. 😀

  5. Karswell permalink
    April 6, 2008 3:57 pm

    We had IGA stories here in STL, in fact the location where we shopped in the 70’s is still there but now it’s used as a bingo hall. BUT! If you walk up to the automatic entrance doors they still have the IGA mats on the ground! I need to snap a pic of those someday.

Leave a Reply

