Skip to content

Ok, So It’s Actually a Left Hand, and It’s Not Red

October 3, 2008

My friend Susan and I were visiting Lima, taking photos of the old signs and storefronts as we do, when she looked through the window of a long-abandoned store and jumped a little. When I saw what she was looking at, I jumped too. Then we both realized what it was and relaxed.

But for a second or so, we thought something quite grim had happened there.

So we took some pictures.

Lima, Ohio

Nick Cave – Red Right Hand

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Smurfwreck permalink
    October 3, 2008 9:21 am

    Man, I love the Murder Ballads album. I like the sort of washed out tint to the photo, makes it look like 70s crime scene.

    I wonder how many times these cheap novelty arms scare the beejezus out of people who work in landfills and refuse sites?

  2. Susan permalink
    October 3, 2008 1:19 pm

    Wow, I totally forgot about that. Super creepy! Good times.

    Also, if I might share a creepy murder song? Sufjan Stevens’ “John Wayne Gacy, Jr.” is a very chilling balad.

  3. Karswell permalink
    October 3, 2008 3:58 pm

    Deja Vu! Not cuz you posted this before, but cuz when I walked into my cellar this morning I… umm…

  4. Walt permalink
    October 4, 2008 1:17 am

    Wow. I lived in Lima, Ohio when I was a kid.

    That’s all.

  5. Dane permalink
    October 4, 2008 5:27 am

    Shawn, that’s an interesting point .. I bet that happens all the time.

    Susan, thanks for the rec – I may have to hit you up for that one.

    Steve: Not again.

    Walt: See what’s become of it? 🙂

  6. Sparkleneely permalink
    October 4, 2008 6:03 pm

    I would have jumped, too… it looks real from a distance!

    And thankfully, you had your camera.

  7. Dane permalink
    October 4, 2008 6:25 pm

    I never want to be without it, in case I ever do run across a severed arm, you know?

Leave a Reply

