Skip to content

The AEAE Christmas Mix 2009

December 9, 2009

Here’s the first, and possibly the only, Christmas mix I’ll end up doing. I have a ridiculous amount of Christmas music on the hard drive, but the songs on this mix are among my favorites; I think I only have 5-10 other favorites besides these. And these go together so well.

You see, there’s a common thread. Each of these Christmas songs features a good, sturdy horn section. Sometimes they’re gently playing along in the background, punctuating the lines of the lyrics, other times, they’re front and center and brassy as can be, but they’re all horn, baby.

Without further ado, here is the Official 2009 AEAE Christmas Mix: A Very Horny Christmas.

Big Bad Voodoo Daddy – Mr. Heatmiser
The Brian Setzer Orchestra – The Nutcracker Suite
(among the best of the best)
Count Basie – Jingle Bells
Harry Connick, Jr. – (It Must Have Been) Ol’ Santa Claus
Kay Starr – (Everybody’s Waitin’ For) the Man With the Bag

Louis Armstrong – ‘Zat You, Santa Claus
Louis Prima – Shake Hands With Santa Claus
Oliver Nelson – Greensleeves

Squirrel Nut Zippers – Sleigh Ride (also among the very best)
Steve Lawrence & Eydie Gorme – Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow!
The Pussycat Dolls – Santa Baby
Tom Jones & Cerys Matthews – Baby, It’s Cold Outside
Guy Lombardo – Auld Lang Syne

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 1:53 pm

    Dane, if anyone else had posted the Pussycat Dolls I probably wouldn’t even have listened but I know you know your bombshells :). I like it. Is that the original dance troupe?

    Really nice mix, lots of new-to-me ones in there. Many thanks. Lovely photo too.

  2. Dane permalink
    December 11, 2009 2:07 pm

    Aw, thanks, Greer. And thanks for being the first to comment.

    Uh, yeah, the Pussycat Dolls. 99.9% of the time I look down my nose at them, but this time … well, I like the sleazy stripper horns in a song. 😀 The Tom Jones song also features the sleazy stripper horns.

    I don’t believe it is the original troupe; there’s at least one member of the original troupe who went on to acting who doesn’t seem to be part of them anymore.

  3. December 12, 2009 5:22 pm

    Oh yeah, the Squirrel But Zippers’ version of Sleigh Ride is great.

  4. Dane permalink
    December 12, 2009 11:03 pm

    One of my favorites!

  5. December 14, 2009 6:32 am

    Having these here is a bit like having unopened presents under the tree; I’m not sure which I’m going to rip the paper off first, they all look so good.

    Am very tempted by the Louis….

  6. Dane permalink
    December 14, 2009 7:51 pm

    Armstrong or Prima? And I’m glad to hear that you’re liking the mix too!

Leave a Reply

