Skip to content

Happy Hanukkah

December 11, 2009

I thought long and hard about what song or songs would be apropos for this holiday. I have no songs about oil (Beds Are Burning by Midnight Oil is the closest I come, and … no), and neither of the songs I have with “candle” in the title really works for me. But there is one I have – and have several excellent versions of – that works. Okay, sort of.

Light My Fire

by The Doors

by Shirley Bassey

by The Gerald Wilson Orchestra*

*Thanks, Ally. This is awesome. (Anyone who’s interested: it is a jazz/lounge instrumental.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 1:23 pm

    I love your Ohio photos, especially when they show something (like Boulevard Gardens) that I drive by every day. With respect to “Light My Fire,” George Winston has a jazz piano version that always amazes me by how he captures the essence of the Doors original on the one instrument.

  2. Dane permalink
    December 17, 2009 2:13 am

    Thank you, Skip, and thanks for stopping by and commenting! I’ll have to look into the Winston version.

Leave a Reply

