Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Frank

December 12, 2009

It took my friend Karen pointing this out to me, because I am lax and forgetful, but it is Francis Albert’s 94th birthday today.

Let’s let her spoonfeed me practically the entire post, shall we? Because the videos she chose to illustrate her birthday greetings are from songs of his that I adore the most too. At least from the movies.

From “On The Town:”

From “High Society:”

Here’s a couple of random songs of his that I love:

Almost Like Being In Love & It’s a Wonderful World

With his birthday so close to Christmas, I bet he was one of those people who got their birthday presents in Christmas wrapping paper, so I feel sort of bad doing this, but here’s a couple of his Christmas classics:

We Wish You The Merriest (with Bing Crosby) & Santa Claus is Coming To Town (with Cyndi Lauper)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    December 12, 2009 12:52 pm

    Ohhh… your blog is a swell party — and I’m so happy to be celebrating Sinatra with you!!! xoxo

  2. Dane permalink
    December 12, 2009 1:45 pm

    Thanks for the heads up (and for coming by) – would you believe I posted a picture of Frank to my Tumblr blog last night without realizing today is his birthday? Just random happenstance.

  3. December 12, 2009 4:54 pm

    Happy Birthday Francis Albert; you are fortunate to have such fans in Karen and Dania, but then – you always were one for the ladies x

  4. December 12, 2009 5:33 pm

    PS: Dane, I have just watched ‘Did You Evah’ with my girlies – who enjoyed it very much, thank you (= Sinatra Education, Year 3, Module 5).

  5. Dane permalink
    December 12, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hurrah! I love it when I can help indoctrinate. They’re moving along well in their studies, I see. While we’re indoctrinating, can I interest you in borrowing some Star Trek DVDs? 🙂

  6. December 12, 2009 6:11 pm

    Ah yes, we started on The Next Generation just this week; today the youngest put her hairband over her eyes and said ‘Look! I’m that man from Star Wars (sic)’ Er…some way to go there yet then…

  7. Dane permalink
    December 12, 2009 9:29 pm

    Heh. So they’re just starting Year One with it, then. Or failing a higher grade. 😀

  8. December 15, 2009 12:11 am

    I wish I’d known it was his birthday, I’d have worn something fancy.

    ‘Well Did You Evah’ is one of my favorite things evah, what a nice choice. I like the High Society soundtrack- these two charmers plus Mr Armstrong!

    And I didn’t have that Christmas duet, so thank you very much once again.

  9. Dane permalink
    December 17, 2009 2:07 am

    Oh, you know, I think was wearing sweats … sorry Frank! You’re welcome – do you have the mp3 for Did You Evah? If not, it’s yours, just say the word.

Leave a Reply

