Skip to content

This Year’s Favorites, Pt. 1

December 28, 2009

It’s apparently time for the annual posts featuring my favorite songs of the year, though how it can already be the 28th, I’ve no idea. Since time is short before the new year, I will cover January through April in this post, May through September in tomorrow’s, and October through this month in Wednesday’s.

I received several mix CDs for Christmas last year and enjoyed them well into the new year, and many of the songs on them are among my choices for tonight’s post, in addition to the usual way I find “new” music; mp3 blogs, many of which are written by people I’ve become fortunate to call friends.

From Joe, I received a ton of music, but the most interesting was the wealth of songs by a German group from the 1930s, the Comedian Harmonists. Two of the ones I liked most were Veronika, der Lenz ist da and Tea for Two.

From Karen, I got to know Andy Williams outside of a Christmas setting with Music to Watch Girls By and found it to be an earworm. I don’t think I got it out of my head until March. She also included The Bob Crewe Generation’s Girls On The Rocks, and that only stuck in my head for maybe a month.

From another friend, Chad, who sent me a winter-themed CD in 2008 that I dug out during last winter’s ice storm, Aretha Franklin’s cozy First Snow in Kokomo, and from Locust St., Lucille Hegamin’s Cold Cold Winter Blues; these two got me through the storm in musical style.

Other songs that gave shape to my winter were Buddy Holly’s lovely Everyday, Sweet Georgie Fame* by Blossom Dearie, whom we lost this year, Nat King Cole’s irresistible Send For Me, Buddy Rich’s swinging version of The Beat Goes On*, Mel Torme’s loungy Right Now (thank you Ally), and The Monkees’ addictive Someday Man*.

*means I found it at Davy H’s blog The Ghost of Electricity. Davy has a knack for knowing what songs I haven’t heard that I’m going to love with all my heart.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 5:13 pm

    “Veronika der Lenz ist da” is great. I think I’ll have opportunity to upload a Comedian Harmonist song soonish. Theirs is a fascinating story; was made into a movie in the 1990s.

  2. Dane permalink
    December 29, 2009 6:24 pm

    I did not know that! I do know enough of their story to know that there’s some sadness involved.

Leave a Reply

