Skip to content

Tech Support Needed

April 17, 2010

When I first moved this blog from Blogspot to WP, I resized all my pictures to 615 width. That was the optimum, indeed maximum, photo size with this layout, which I chose because it was one of the few that allowed a custom header, pictures in the ~615 neighborhood, and all the widgets my little heart desired. You know, fripperies like a search box and a drop-down archive box.

Now, however, it seems that it doesn’t matter what size I upload or if I use height and width tags. They are so tiny that it defeats the purpose of having a photoblog. It’s extremely frustrating. Before I go to the trouble of trying to find a different layout (if you’re about to suggest creating my own, please don’t) or even moving the blog again (I’d really rather not! This problem aside, I’ve come to love WordPress), I thought I’d ask and see if anyone knows how to fix/circumvent the problem.

Thanks for any help you can give.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 2:20 pm

    No idea on the tech D, sorry – but there is a ‘photo-blog’- specific template in WP that makes all images big, isn’t there…? Sure wanna see your pics jumbo x

  2. Dane permalink
    April 17, 2010 3:09 pm

    There is, but the ones that do either don’t allow widgets (the useful stuff down the side) or a custom header. (and i simply cannot do without Alice up there) (I call her Alice, the girl in the header. It’s my mom’s name.) I keep looking for one that does, though.

  3. April 22, 2010 10:28 pm

    Those limitations seem rather restrictive. Surely there’s a way to get one to work with the other. I’m afraid I don’t know WP at all, having only used it for a couple of months about two years ago for my vintage photo blog before moving it to blogspot for more control. Of course, the pictures are so small on blogspot but I just recently (finally) figured out how to make them bigger, which is, unfortunately, of no use to you. Sorry, wish I could help.

  4. Dane permalink
    April 22, 2010 11:19 pm

    Thanks for trying, though! I appreciate the thought. As you can see, i went back to the original layout pretty quickly. It just isn’t AEAE without the header.

Leave a Reply

