Skip to content

Happy Admin Day

April 20, 2010

Administrative Professionals Day is tomorrow. I’m sure you know how I feel about the subject.

We’re the ones who answer the phones and wrangle the idiots who call in, the ones who run background checks so you know who among your job applicants have been arrested for assault of horses* or killing people for revenge*. We’re the ones who do the data entry, arrange your travel, run your reports, and put a shortcut to a new word processing file on your desktop so that you can just double click an icon “to get a blank sheet of paper.*” We’re the ones who take charge of getting the expensive office equipment fixed promptly when one of the directors manages to break the folder, the copier, and the postage machine within 10 minutes’ time. (He really cut a swath that morning.*)

I don’t expect you guys to wish me a happy admin day in the comments; the thought is sweet, though. That’s for my bosses to do (and I hope they do). Instead, tell your own admin, tell your fellow admin, tell any admin you deal with daily. You might be surprised by how much a simple thank you means. And now I’m going to go bake my fellow admin some cookies for tomorrow. We have to look out for our own.

*yes, I know, but I swear, these are all true stories.

TV Theme – Mary Tyler Moore
(and Husker Du‘s and Joan Jett’s versions)

Louis Armstrong – Whistle While You Work

Dolly Parton – 9 to 5

The Mamas and the Papas – Monday, Monday

Sam Cooke – Chain Gang

Lee Dorsey – Working In a Coal Mine

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:40 pm

    You’re amazing… and I hope you and your compatriots have a great day tomorrow. xoxoxo

  2. April 21, 2010 1:16 pm

    These revenge killers, are you screening them out or in?

  3. dustysevens permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:05 pm

    it comes around so fast – have fun dear

    and boy that gal in the picture is rocking a look i’d love
    x

  4. Dane permalink
    April 22, 2010 7:40 am

    Thanks, Karen, you’re a sweetie.

    Joe: I forward their resumes on for potential admin jobs.

    Ally: that look is just a trip to a vintage shop away!

  5. April 23, 2010 1:40 am

    The hair though- that would take more skill and patience than I possess. Love the Lee Dorsey.

  6. April 23, 2010 3:50 am

    She’s the kind of girl Philip Marlowe’d be cheeky to. And she’d like it.

    I wish I had an ‘admin’ ; I have to do all that stuff myself, badly.

    Nice to have the old format back after all x

  7. Dane permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:12 pm

    Greer: I’m not good with hair, personally. I’ve worn mine long and straight-ish with bangs since I was about five. Hairdos like the above mystify me.

    Davy: I agree, I couldn’t do without the header.

    Sounds like you could use a good admin. I would love to see London. Perhaps we can strike a deal.

  8. April 24, 2010 12:26 am

    happy belated admin day. brilliant track list, i too am an admin. i am bookmarking your site now! thx heaps!

  9. April 24, 2010 12:28 am

    ps. i never knew where this sample was from on the Urge Overkill album!!!! wow! MTM soundtrack, who knew?!!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Administrative Professionals Day (Tomorrow)! « All Eyes And Ears

Leave a Reply

