Skip to content

’80s Night

April 23, 2010

For some reason I was in an ’80s mood tonight and realized that though I have a pretty thorough collection of ’80s CDs, I hadn’t ripped some of my most favorite songs from them, so I sat down and got busy. What the hell, it’s a Friday night, I’m feeling generous, I’ll share them with you.

Eurythmics – Love Is a Stranger
This is among my most beloved songs of the entire decade and 1) I hadn’t heard it in ages until I saw it over on Barely Awake In Frog Pajamas a few weeks back and 2) went ahead and ripped it anyway tonight because I’d already forgotten I’d downloaded it. Clearly I am losing my mind.

Eurythmics – Right By Your Side

Eurythmics – Who’s that Girl
I like this for the same reasons I like Love Is a Stranger; both songs are freezing cold, practically machinery, and sort of dark.

Cyndi Lauper – All Through the Night
It’s a beautiful song, but since I went through my first real heartbreak when this was released, it still has the power to give me a thousand yard stare. It’s a sense memory more than anything else.

Van Halen – Hot For Teacher
They were so much fun in the Dave years.

George Michael – Father Figure & I Want Your Sex, Pts. 1 & 2
I don’t hear these very often anymore. I don’t hear many of these songs very often anymore.

Poison – Fallen Angel
Oh, hush. I never said I had good taste.

Prince & the Revolution – Let’s Go Crazy

Rick Springfield – Love Somebody

The Bangles – If She Knew She Wants

The Traveling Wilburys – Handle With Care

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 10:21 pm

    I have a live version of All Through The Night that just kills me.

  2. Dane permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:50 pm

    It’s what that song was designed to do.

  3. Sam Wibatt permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:51 pm

    Love love love the Wilburys. Handle with Care is a terrific song, but the one I always find myself wanting to hear, for some reason, is Poor House.

  4. Dane permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:15 pm

    Is that on Vol. 2? Has to be. And why don’t I have Vol. 2? What’s wrong with me?

    • Sam Wibatt permalink
      April 24, 2010 11:07 am

      Nobody has Vol. 2.

      • Sam Wibatt permalink
        April 24, 2010 11:10 am

        (so there’s nothing wrong with you. Me, I’m a smartass, is what’s wrong with me.)

      • Dane permalink
        April 24, 2010 1:26 pm

        Ha! It took me a minute, but yes, you’re right.

  5. wallernotweller permalink
    April 24, 2010 2:59 am

    ive just published my fave stuff of 1983. it’s a good read… take a look

    http://wallernotweller.wordpress.com/1983-top-40-best-singles-2/1983-best-singles-40-31/

    • Dane permalink
      April 24, 2010 9:08 pm

      1983 was a great year. I’ll be right over.

  6. barelyawakeinfrogpajamas permalink
    April 24, 2010 1:08 pm

    Nice selection of songs. And, though I was never a fan, I did like Fallen Angel, too.

    • Dane permalink
      April 24, 2010 1:27 pm

      Thanks. And Fallen Angel is one of those songs I never think about, but on the once-every-ten-years occasion I hear it, I realize I know all the words and sing it straight through to the end.

Leave a Reply

