Skip to content

May The 4th (Be With You)

May 4, 2010

It’s Star Wars Day! In honor of it, I thought, what the hell, I’ve needed to get in the attic and look for something for a while now, might as well hunt up the old toy box my parents made me take when they got rid of everything and moved to Florida. I knew I had some Star Wars toys up there. And I did, I found a few up there, as ratty and beat up as possible, sadly. But I found the above too, and I’d forgotten I even had this.

The stack in the lower left corner has the border with the blue starfield, and those were the first ones I bought.

I’m a Trekkie, first and foremost, always will be, but oh I loved some Star Wars when I was young.

From the soundtrack, the Star Wars Main Theme and Cantina Band.

From Maynard Ferguson, his take on the main theme.

And for kicks, here’s a zip file I found somewhere on the web years ago full of light saber sound effects.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 7:21 pm

    The last time my parents visited, my mom had brought a box of stuff from my old bedroom. No Star Wars cards, but I did have a bunch from the ’76 King Kong remake. There were also a bunch of sports cards uncluding a Dr. J rookie card that, supposedly, goes for several hundred dollars.

  2. Squire348 permalink
    May 7, 2010 7:10 pm

    Star Wars was always the tops. Then again nobody I know comes close to you on the Trek fan wagon. Just to show you my inner geek…the blue border cards were the first issues. The last was orange/yellow from the original set. I also have the oversized comic from then too. Maybe next year I’ll know about the day in advance. Ha.

  3. Dane permalink
    May 12, 2010 9:22 pm

    Barely Awake: did you sell the card or keep it?

    Todd: Hey! Nice to see you again! Yeah, I thought those blue borders had to be the first.

Leave a Reply

