Skip to content

Calendar Girl

September 4, 2010

Apologies for the lack of posts. This time it wasn’t even a lack of photos or motivation, I have plenty of both. I just had some computer issues.

While I’m getting things back in order though, I wanted to share this old Scopitone video my friend Eartha Kitsch alerted me to. Neil Sedaka’s Calendar Girl. Love the song, love Neil, and this is too cute. And goofy.

Boy, that Miss August is flamboyant, huh? Leo chicks, am I right?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 10:10 pm

    AE&E’s never ceases… The Scopitone of Neil Sedaka was amazing in it’s quality. You (or whomever) must have the original film. The Scopitone picture as played on the actual machine was kind of distorted and I think the projector went to a mirror & up to a screen that magnified it and the picture was distorted on the device. Anyway… Thanks for the great video and a super blog!
    Mikelj

  2. September 5, 2010 11:46 pm

    just wanted to tell you i love the pics you post on your blog. and i passed a blogger award to you. you can find it on my site:)
    cynnie
    http://neversleepsagain.blogspot.com/

  3. September 6, 2010 9:49 pm

    A couple of years ago, we drove to Iowa to see Neil Sedaka. During the show, he showed that Scopitone clip. It was filmed in Italy in 1961. He called it β€œthe first music video.”

    http://amthenfm.wordpress.com/2008/05/26/my-people-in-iowa/

    It capped a week in which I saw Dionne Warwick on Monday night, Kid Rock on Tuesday night and Neil Sedaka on Saturday night. That was some week.

  4. Dane permalink
    September 6, 2010 9:49 pm

    Mikel! You’ve been here before, haven’t you? Thanks for the kind words. I know, the quality fo the clip is surprising.

    Cynthia: thank you! That’s very kind!

  5. September 19, 2010 2:41 pm

    LOVE the vid of Neil Sedaka, one of my all-time favorites.
    Although I am slightly disturbed by him trying to rock it out to Calendar Girl, ha ha!
    LOVE your pix, your blog, and You!

    • Dane permalink
      September 20, 2010 9:59 pm

      Yeah, bless, the man can’t dance. πŸ™‚ Thanks for coming by, Sharon! You are a doll.

  6. September 20, 2010 10:13 pm

    Neil is an incredibly nice man. I spent many an evening at his amazing home in NYC when I was at NYU. I found him, and his whole family, to be incredibly generous, and while he was showing me some of his art collection, you could see how excited and amazed at some of the pieces he had and would say things like “Can you believe that, it’s an Andy Warhol — of me!” as if it was the wildest thing he could imagine. He even wrote the music for our little dorm production of “Tribute.”

  7. Dane permalink
    September 20, 2010 10:39 pm

    You knew him that well? How cool! He sounds as sweet as I’d expect.

Leave a Reply

