Skip to content

It’s On!

September 30, 2010

An unusual grouping of angels, St. Joseph Cemetery, Columbus, Ohio

See large

It’s that time of year (my favorite!) again! There’ll be a little bit of Halloween every day here until the big day itself, and if a little bit won’t do you, then you can visit the other sites taking part in the Halloween Countdown! Last year we had well over a hundred, and I’m interested to see how much it’s grown this year. I’ll post a list of all the links as soon as possible.

A few sounds to kick off the festivities:

Evil laughter

Betty Grable – Halloween

John Zacherly – Halloween Hootenanny

Gershon Kingsley & Peter Waldron – Goblin Dance

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 2:12 am

    Can’t wait to see what your camera lens found for this year’s Halloween countdown.

    • Dane permalink
      October 2, 2010 11:48 am

      I can’t wait to see what you came up with too!

  2. October 1, 2010 6:33 am

    Very nice. Reminds me of a trip I took with my mother a few years ago, to visit her relatives in Missouri. Turned into a week long tour of half a dozen old cemeteries, and small family plots out behind people’s homes, as we went to pay our respects to friends and family who had passed since she moved away. Old cemeteries have so much more character than modern ones, with their manicured lawns and headstones set flush with the ground, like so many filing cabinet drawers.

    Happy Halloween!

    • Dane permalink
      October 2, 2010 11:51 am

      “like so many filing cabinet drawers” – perfect description! I hate “memorial gardens” myself. Give me a cemetery with some character any day.

      BTW, I went visiting down the list of participants yesterday after you commented and found one called Creepy Pictures that immediately became my first new favorite find of this year’s countdown. Color me surprised when I realized it was my new commenter’s! Great site – you are bookmarked!

  3. October 1, 2010 10:56 am

    That photo is awesome. It looks like they’re preparing for war in the cemetery and are the guards stationed as lookouts. As always, I’m dying to see your Halloween posts. Happy Halloween!

    • Dane permalink
      October 2, 2010 11:53 am

      Ooh, you’re right. They do kind of look like they’ve taken up their posts and are waiting ominously. When I took it, I’d just been driving through when I caught that grouping of them and stopped … it just didn’t look quite right somehow.

  4. October 1, 2010 1:40 pm

    I can honestly say I’ve never see a flock of angels before… 😉

    • Dane permalink
      October 2, 2010 11:54 am

      Doesn’t look quite as innocent as you’d think, eh? 🙂

  5. rhsmith permalink
    October 1, 2010 2:32 pm

    Great stuff… let the spookening begin!

    • Dane permalink
      October 2, 2010 11:54 am

      Thanks! And welcome back, you! 🙂

  6. October 1, 2010 7:35 pm

    Love the Zacherly! 🙂

    • Dane permalink
      October 2, 2010 11:55 am

      There will be a little more later. 🙂 And welcome back to you too!

  7. Spooky Mizu permalink
    October 8, 2010 9:09 am

    Just wanted to say “Thanks” for the Betty Grable song. That sucker is a classic.

    It sounds like it might actually be from a musical, eh?

    Lovin’ your page!

  8. October 11, 2010 6:03 pm

    I have been looking forward to this all year. Hello again.

Leave a Reply

