Skip to content

Pumpkin Pie Bread

October 9, 2010

Not just pumpkin bread, pumpkin pie bread! And I can attest to the batter tasting just like a less custardy pumpkin pie. Yum. However, it does make two (and a smaller third) loaves, so go to the link on Allrecipes and use the calculator function to scale this back if you don’t want or need that many.

From this recipe on Allrecipes.com:

Ingredients

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups white sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
1/2 cup water
Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans. Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. Set aside.
In a large bowl, beat together sugar, oil, eggs, and pumpkin. Stir in flour mixture alternately with water. Divide batter evenly between the prepared pans.
Bake in the preheated oven for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. For best flavor, store wrapped in plastic wrap at room temperature for a full day before serving.

See large

Carl Stalling – The Skeleton Dance

Alice Cooper – Cold Ethyl

Jelly Roll Morton – Dead Man Blues

The Blenders – Graveyard

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 12:14 am

    Dane, I could eat you up.

    • Dane permalink
      October 10, 2010 12:18 am

      Why, now I’m blushing!

      It’s funny how the baked goods posts seem to be so popular…

  2. October 10, 2010 1:29 am

    I feel like I just walked into a room I shouldn’t have. I’ll leave you two alone. Just pretend I was never here.

    • Dane permalink
      October 10, 2010 8:07 am

      Well, you’re going to take some bread before you go, right? I mean, this recipe made three loaves, John!

  3. October 10, 2010 4:22 pm

    Now you get to learn my dirty little secret with regards to my favorite holiday. I don’t like the taste of pumpkin. I never have. I do like baked pumpkin seeds though.

    • Dane permalink
      October 10, 2010 8:22 pm

      Everybody point and laugh at John! He doesn’t like pumpkin!

      Mmm, baked pumpkin seeds. I haven’t had those since I was little.

  4. Dane permalink
    October 10, 2010 11:21 pm

    P.S. This is even better with a little homemade whipped cream. Not that I’m decadent enough to have done that for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

