Skip to content

Squirrel Nut Zippers

December 4, 2011

So while I was in Knoxville with the family, mom found an old-fashioned general store with a huge area full of barrels full of old-fashioned candy, from the ’50s through the ’70s. You fill a little basket with what you want and go to the register to have it weighed to determine what you pay.

I um, spent $15. I also found myself wishing that the bag they put it in had handles.

The above is some of the candy haul I got. Squirrel Nut Zippers! Sesame seed candy! Bit’o Honey (ha ha ha I almost typed bit o’ hiney), and Mary Janes!

There was one great moment that made me laugh out loud; at one point I squealed and lunged for some particular thing and the ten (?) year old boy next to me gives me an appraising look and in a thick Southern drawl and a deep Froggy-from-the-Little-Rascals voice, said “there’s a lil’ child inside of all of us.”

Here’s a song of the season from the group that took their name from the candy above.

Squirrel Nut Zippers – Sleigh Ride

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Poodle permalink
    December 8, 2011 11:03 am

    So what do squirrel nut zippers taste like? I’ve never had one.

    • Dane permalink
      December 10, 2011 10:14 am

      They’re basically a chewy vanilla caramel. They’re really good!

Leave a Reply

