Skip to content

R.I.P., Davy Jones

February 29, 2012

I’ve said all this in a few other places today, so I’ll keep it brief here. When I was a teenager and dealing with a bout of depression, my first, it dragged on for months. Then, MTV started playing The Monkees’ TV show three times a day, and I happened to catch it. Their gentle, goofy humor was the first thing that had really made me laugh in ages, and the show and their upbeat, fun music helped to finally lift that cloud of depression.

I loved them so much. I was a Davy girl at first, but ended up a Micky girl. I saw them in concert three times, and knew I’d regret not going to see them last summer on their last tour ever, when they played across the street from where I work. Yeah, I know, I know, but I hate crowds. A lot.

R.I.P., Davy. So much love.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Poodle permalink
    March 1, 2012 9:40 am

    Sigh… where does one start? I had 35 years of joyful Monkees memories flash before my eyes yesterday, and I feel like a huge chunk of something is missing now. It all came rushing back. Everything from beating my brother home from school every afternoon so I could watch the Monkees, to staying up all night watching a 24 hour Monkeethon, to my first Monkees show, (Weird Al opened) to the time Davy came to the local suburban arts festival, played on a ridiculously small stage, and I ended the evening by handing one of my old Monkees albums to a cop who threw it over the fence to another cop, who got Davy to sign it. So much silliness and laughter, and Davy wasn’t even my favorite. (Peter was.) It must be evidence of a life well lived to be so well loved that people associate you with nothing but good times. So long, Davy. And thanks.

  2. March 1, 2012 1:09 pm

    Funny. I started a Davy girl and ended up a Mickey girl, too.

    When the world was slowly moving away from cassette tapes toward CD’s, I remember I bought a couple Monkees albums on CD before I even had a player. Just to be sure I had them! And, of course, I still have all the albums on vinyl. Memories….

    RIP, Davy.

  3. Dane permalink
    March 1, 2012 1:55 pm

    Poodle, I feel the same way. I can still remember the way I felt upon having watched my first two Monkees episodes, having only dimly heard of them before and after not laughing at all for too long beforehand. They caught me off guard and I laughed all the way through the entire hour. They gave me that back. And I loved the music. They were like a gift of everything I needed. Concerts all over the state, Cincinnati, Columbus, Canfield, and I went to each of them. Somewhere in the attic, I still have my program and t-shirt. I wore that t-shirt endlessly for a couple of years. (And I saw the concert with Weird Al opening too, and one with The Grass Roots, Gary Puckett, and Peter Noone.) I remember those Monkeethons, (I taped the whole series back then) and I envy you the cops helping you get your autograph.

    Nikol, I love and understand your needing to know you had the music in the next format! I just bought a record player last fall and hit a record store last month … one of my first choices was Pisces, Aquarius. Good for you for keeping your vinyl, I wasn’t that smart.

    I am taking this death almost like I would someone I knew in real life. It’s not even that a big part of my youth went with him, though it did. It’s that he and the rest of the guys meant so much to me. I am so very touched by the fact that so many other people all seem to have felt the same. They’ve taken so much crap over the years, it’s lovely to see them get so much love now.

  4. Dane permalink
    March 1, 2012 10:13 pm

    Oh, and I forgot to add this: “It must be evidence of a life well lived to be so well loved that people associate you with nothing but good times.” is so touching. That’s the nicest thing I’ve heard anyone say in a long time.

  5. Poodle permalink
    March 1, 2012 11:54 pm

    I don’t even remember the first Monkees episode I saw. It had to be sometime around ’77 or ’78 when I got seriously into the Beatles. Though ten years late, I fell right into the trap. The Monkees were less exotic Beatles, and they were on tv Every. Day. Tailor made for a 9 year old kid. So in a way, a bit of childhood did get lost yesterday. (Was it only yesterday?) I taped all those Monkeethons too! I had heaps of horribly recorded VHS tapes until someone finally took pity on me and got me the DVD box set. I’m holding out for a remastered blu-ray. I never got a concert shirt, but I saw my ’86 program go by the other day when I was cleaning my closet. The Night of the Helpful Cops still makes me laugh everytime I drive by the park. It was total Davy mania that night, silly, silly, silly, but I remember thinking how cool it was that he would stick around and sign stuff after giving 110% at a cheapo $5 show. I suppose I’m taking this harder than I should too, but something ‘s irretrievably missing. Last year I remember waiting anxiously to see if they were going to book a show here. Sadly, they didn’t come close. Now I’ll never get to see them again, and I think that’s where a lot of the loss comes in. The Peter and Micky show just wouldn’t be the same.(I’d go anyway, but…) I always thought being a Monkees fan was sort of a cult thing, but I’m finding out how wrong that assumption is. I was shocked to see my FB feed filled with Davy tributes yesterday, tributes from people who I had no idea even cared a whit about the Monkees. Apparently they touched a lot of people, and some of us they unwittingly whacked over the head and carried off.

  6. Poodle permalink
    March 2, 2012 1:04 pm

    And as far as heartfelt words go, I think Mike Nesmith summed it up very gracefully. Weirdly, but gracefully. I’m sure you’ve read it, so I won’t repost it here, but I found it very sweet for some reason.

  7. Dane permalink
    March 3, 2012 10:26 pm

    “Apparently they touched a lot of people, and some of us they unwittingly whacked over the head and carried off.” I like that, too. I’m definitely one they bundled off with.

    I went looking for what Mike said, and … yeah, weird but sweet. I’d expect nothing different from him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

