Skip to content

The Countdown Is On!

October 1, 2009

Canton, Ohio’s West Lawn Cemetery

John Zacherley – Halloween Hootenanny

Radio Spot – Blood Mania

Michael Jackson – Thriller

Speak Low – Thriller (instrumental jazz/funk version)

It’s finally October again! For the fourth year in a row, I am posting something Halloween-related every day until the big day, and taking part in the Countdown to Halloween. I’ll list the links to all the participants tomorrow; after that, if you want the list of links, just click the Halloween Countdown banner in my sidebar and it will take you there.

The Halloween version of my banner (as well as the normal version) was created by the amazing Karswell, who runs the pre-code horror comic blog The Horrors of It All.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 4:09 am

    Trick or Treat! I want to change my last name to Halser so that I can move in there.

    You’re off to a great start. I’m looking forward to the next 30.

  2. Dane permalink
    October 1, 2009 4:19 am

    Nah, hold out John – there are even better crypts coming! Thank you! I’m having fun already.

  3. October 1, 2009 4:39 am

    Fantastically creepy photograph! Can’t wait to see some more!

  4. Dane permalink
    October 1, 2009 4:49 am

    Thank you for the words of high praise!

  5. October 1, 2009 5:19 am

    Nice looking crypt. We might have to move the KRYP-TV studio here! Looking forward to all of your photos this month!

  6. October 1, 2009 9:40 am

    Wow, that’s got a nice balance of upbeat fall and a bit imposing starkness to it. Think I’m going to listen to the hootenanny to start off my day!

  7. October 1, 2009 1:09 pm

    Beautiful!

  8. October 1, 2009 7:15 pm

    Lovely pic! Reminds me of home.

  9. Dane permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:28 am

    Todd: You and Vlad and the crew might find it quite homey for your purposes. Let me know if Vlad wants directions.

    Thank you, Shawn! Enjoy that hootenanny!

    Thanks, becca!

    Wings: These small crypts are the coziest, aren’t they?

  10. October 3, 2009 10:24 am

    Can’t believe it’s countdown time again! Looking forward to more of your wonderful cemetery photos 😀

  11. Dane permalink
    October 3, 2009 10:30 pm

    Thank you! I have plenty planned!

  12. October 4, 2009 10:44 am

    Great perspective on this shot!! What a fantastic way to start off the Halloween season……leaves on the ground, lots of orange, and a bleak, chilly-feeling atmospheric tomb. Can’t wait to see more!

  13. Dane permalink
    October 4, 2009 7:49 pm

    Oh, thank you! West Lawn has many amazing crypts, and I’ll be posting pictures of lots of them this month.

  14. October 6, 2009 3:19 pm

    What a great shot to start with! I can’t wait to see what the next 30 days have in store.

  15. Dane permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:54 pm

    Thanks! Nice to see you back and presumably well again.

Leave a comment